OU Engineering Students Named NSF Graduate Research Fellows

Five students in the Gallogly College of Engineering at the University of Oklahoma have been selected as 2022 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellows. 

The fellowships provide students with a three-year annual stipend, allowance for tuition and fees, and access to opportunities for professional development available to NSF-supported graduate students. 

“We are very proud of our engineering students who received an NSF fellowship. Each of these scholars is committed to conducting research that will broadly impact Oklahoma, our nation and our world. The award will help each of them become a leader who will contribute to scientific innovation and teaching,” said John Klier, Ph.D., the college’s dean. 

Clayton Blosser, of Norman, Oklahoma, is working toward a master’s in electrical engineering with an anticipated graduation date of May 2022. He works as a research assistant at the Advanced Radar Research Center and serves in leadership and outreach positions for IEEE’s honor society, Eta Kappa Nu. 

Lucas Condes, of Collinsville, Oklahoma, is a first-year doctoral student in the School of Chemical, Biological and Materials Engineering. During his undergraduate career at OU, he was a Chevron Phillips Scholar Mentor and worked on both industrial and academic research projects in three different labs at the University of Oklahoma and Louisiana State University.

Shane Flandermeyer, of Oklahoma City, is an undergraduate researcher at the Advanced Radar Research Center. He is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering and a minor in computer science with an anticipated graduation of May 2022. He is an Astronaut Scholar, the only recipient named from the State of Oklahoma in 2021.

Alyssa Holden, of Chouteau, Oklahoma, is a senior in the Stephenson School of Biomedical Engineering. Starting in Fall 2022, she will pursue a doctorate in pharmaceutical sciences with an emphasis on the emerging discipline of pharmacoengineering at the University of North Carolina. She has served as a leader in OU’s Biomedical Engineering Society.

Elizabeth Joyce, of Allen, Texas, is a senior in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering with an expected graduation day of December 2022. Following graduation, she will pursue a master’s degree in electrical engineering at OU. Currently, she works at the Advanced Radar Research Center. She has served in leadership positions that include Engineers Serving Others and in the Honors Mentorship Program.

“In addition to the five current students in the Gallogly College of Engineering who received the award, we are also very proud of our many engineering alums, past recipients and incoming engineering students who are recipients,” Klier said.

 The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program is the country’s oldest fellowship program that directly supports graduate students in various STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields. Since 1952, NSF has funded over 60,000 Graduate Research Fellowships out of more than 500,000 applicants.  Currently, 42 Fellows have gone on to become Nobel laureates, and more than 450 have become members of the National Academy of Sciences.

To learn more about the Gallogly College of Engineering, visit www.ou.edu/coe.

By Lorene A. Roberson, OU Gallogly College of Engineering

Popular posts from this blog

Engineers Week 2023: A Jurassic Adventure

OU's Venkatesan Turns the Page: Honored by 4 Noted Organizations