Showing posts from October, 2017

Sabatini to Receive International Service Award

A University of Oklahoma professor, David A. Sabatini, has been selected to receive the 2017 International Association of Hydrogeologists, U.S. National Chapter’s International Service Award for his many years of promoting sustainable water resources projects in developing and impoverished countries, particularly through the creation of the OU Water Technologies for Emerging Regions Center. Sabatini has shown outstanding commitment to the international community and its groundwater needs. “This award is well-deserved and reflects the international stature of Professor David Sabatini in his field,” said OU President David L. Boren. “No one has done more to help develop safe water for those who desperately need it. The OU family is very grateful to Dr. Sabatini.” Sabatini, David Ross Boyd Professor and Sun Oil Company Endowed Chair of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science in the Gallogly College of Engineering, is being recognized as director of the OU Water Center and for hi

Bymasters give back with endowed scholarship

From left: Development Officer Stephanie Buettner, Kristin and Adam Bymaster and Dean Tom Landers Adam and Kristin Bymaster, 2004 CBME graduates, have established the Bymaster Endowed Scholarship taking advantage of ExxonMobil’s matching gift program for employees. Recently, we had the opportunity to ask the Bymasters about their time at OU, their careers with ExxonMobil and why they chose an endowed scholarship as the vehicle for giving back to the University of Oklahoma.  How did you (Kristin) arrive at your current role at ExxonMobil? My career began with three internships at ExxonMobil, which were found using OU’s Career Services department and through OU’s Minority Engineering Program. Upon completion of my bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering, I was hired full-time by ExxonMobil in May of 2004. I have held multiple positions, beginning as an offshore facilities engineer and progressing into various technical leadership roles for assets across the United States. In

CBME Alumnae receive AIChE 35 Under 35 Award

Ashlee Ford Versypt and Kendall Werts, OU CBME alumnae, are among the recipients of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) 35 Under 35 Award.   An initiative of AIChE’s Young Professionals Committee, with support from the AIChE Foundation, the AIChE 35 Under 35 Award was created to acknowledge the early-career successes of some of AIChE’s youngest members, all under the age of 35, and to promote the accomplishments of the new generation of chemical engineers. The award winners were selected based on their achievements in one of seven categories: bioengineering, chemicals, education, energy, innovation, leadership, and safety. Ashlee Ford Versypt, is an assistant professor of chemical engineering at Oklahoma State University and a member of the OKChE Advisory Board.   Dr. Ford Versypt directs the Systems Biomedicine & Pharmaceutics research laboratory at the intersection of chemical engineering, computational science and engineering, applied mathematics, biomedica

Steven Crossley receives NSF Early CAREER Award

OU CBME associate professor, Steven P. Crossley, Sam A. Wilson Professor and Roger and Sherry Teigen Presidential Professor, is the recipient of a five-year, National Science Foundation Early CAREER Award in the amount of $548,829 for research that can be used to understand catalysts that are important for a broad range of chemical reactions ranging from the production of renewable fuels and chemicals for natural gas processing. The research will be integrated with educational and outreach programs intended for American Indian students, emphasizing the importance of sustainable energy. “The NSF CAREER award is partly in recognition of the important work that Steve has already done in the field of catalysis. It is one of the highest honors a young faculty member can receive. We look forward to him doing great things in the future,” said Brian P. Grady, CBME director. Crossley is also a faculty mentor for the American Indian Science and Engineering Society. The project entitle

Roger G. Harrison, Jr. inducted into Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society will honor Dr. Roger Harrison, Jr. at a dinner and induction ceremony, October 30, 2017, in the Nigh Center on the University of Central Oklahoma campus in Edmond.   He was selected along with 9 other leaders with distinguished careers in teaching, research, medicine, government, economic development and public service and a former state senator for its 2017 Hall of Fame honors.   Dr. Harrison has demonstrated excellence in four measures of achievement in higher education: teaching, research, writing and the application of knowledge to the solution of problems for the benefit of others. During his 28 years at OU, Harrison has received national honors as author of a textbook adopted by 70 major universities in the U.S. and abroad, being a leader in biomedical engineering education, and through research which opened the door for the significant reduction in the amount of toxic substances required for chemotherapy in cancer treatment.