Monday, June 12, 2017

Rogers Named Regents' Alumni Award Recipient

Lisa M. Rogers of Houston, Texas, chemical engineer at ExxonMobil and mentor to OU engineering students, has been named one of eleven 2017 Regents' Alumni Award recipients. Rogers has been an active supporter of her alma mater since earning her Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering in 2002.

Her leadership has played a vital role in the Gallogly College of Engineering. Through her service on the Chemical Engineering Advisory Board, she has made it a priority to serve and also has become an honorary recruiter for OU. As an OU alumna, she knows firsthand the impact the university has on students, and she is dedicated to seeing programs prosper.

During her time at OU, Rogers’ Sooner Spirit was evident through her student roles and her honors and awards. As an honors student and an active member of the Student Chemical Engineering Society, she was on the Dean’s Honor Roll each semester and was an Oklahoma Scholar, an SAE Scholar and a Lawrence Reid Gas Conditioning Conference Scholar. Selected as Outstanding Sophomore and Outstanding Senior for Chemical Engineering, she was part of a chemical engineering team that placed first in the School of Chemical Engineering Senior Design Awards.

Dedicated to guiding and encouraging students through their pursuit of an engineering degree, she has spent countless hours mentoring and coaching OU students. In addition to her services as a mentor, she is one of the youngest alumni to join the J.H. Felgar Society – a program that supports the Gallogly College of Engineering. An Alpha Sigma Kappa sorority alumna, her support also has extended to the Women in Engineering Thousands Strong campaign, for which she was a major contributor.

An IRONMAN Triathlon competitor, she supports numerous causes outside of OU. Currently, she is product optimizer for ExxonMobil.

Presented by the OU Board of Regents and OU Alumni Association, the Regents’ Alumni Award honors the important roles of OU alumni and supporters to the life of the university. A committee formed by the Alumni Association selects the award recipients from nominations made by alumni, friends, and OU faculty and staff. Each year’s recipients receive a plaque, and their names are engraved on a permanent plaque in the Oklahoma Memorial Union.

No comments:

Post a Comment