Skip to main content


OU Earns Its First LEED Gold Certification for Gallogly Hall

Gallogly Hall has earned the University of Oklahoma its first LEED Gold certification from the U.S. Green Building Council for its environmentally conscious design and sustainability practices.

Completed and opened to occupants in July 2019, Gallogly Hall is home to engineers of all disciplines at OU.

LEED, or Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, is the most widely used green building rating system in the world and is a globally recognized symbol of sustainability achievement. Green building aims to identify solutions that balance environmental, social and economic needs throughout the planning, design, construction and operation of built structures. Projects pursing LEED certification earn points across categories that pertain to site, water, energy, materials, indoor air and innovation.

“Taking a project through the LEED certification process is rigorous and challenging,” said Eric Conrad, OU vice president for operations and chief operating officer. “Many factors in …
Recent posts

OU Engineering Professors Selected for Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

Two engineering educators at the University of Oklahoma have been selected as inductees into the 2020 Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame for their distinctive achievements and contributions to higher education.

David Sabatini, founding director of the Water Technologies for Emerging Regions Center and associate director of the Institute for Applied Surfactant Research in the Gallogly College of Engineering; and Daniel Resasco, Gallogly Chair of Chemical Engineering in the Gallogly College of Engineering; are among this year’s 11 inductees.

“We are incredibly proud of Dr. Sabatini and Dr. Resasco, who have worked hard throughout their careers to earn this prestigious honor,” said OU President Joseph Harroz Jr. “Their selection is a testament to their commitment to their students, research and the University of Oklahoma. We are fortunate to have world-class faculty like them who help advance our sacred purpose.”
Since 1994, the Oklahoma Higher Education Society has recognized individ…

Penner Receives $1,000 WiRED Scholarship Award

Rachel Penner is a junior from Albuquerque, New Mexico, majoring in engineering physics with a specialization in aerospace. When she read about the Women in Research and Engineering Development scholarship in the Women of Aeronautics and Astronautics monthly newsletter, she decided to apply. 
Upon notification that she was awarded the $1,000 WiRED scholarship from Emergent Space Technologies, she felt honored. 
"I think it's great that Emergent Space Technologies is supporting young women engineers in a field that is traditionally so male-dominated," Penner said.
Penner has always been fascinated by aerospace, particularly outer space and space exploration. She chose to major in Engineering Physics with an aerospace engineering specialization to better understand the fundamental physical principles behind practical applications of aerospace engineering. She would love to someday work on a project to further crewed spaceflight to Mars and beyond.

OU Researcher Receives Department of Defense Young Faculty Award

Justin Metcalf, assistant professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Gallogly College of Engineering at the University of Oklahoma, has received a Young Faculty Award from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.
In recent years, commercial and military demand for using the electromagnetic spectrum has exploded. Mobile devices, digital audio and streaming platforms compete with military needs for communications and intelligence. Metcalf’s research project explores how the electromagnetic spectrum has become critically congested.

“This is a spectacular honor and a very competitive award from the Department of Defense,” said Tomás Díaz de la Rubia, OU vice president for research and partnerships. “To have the University of Oklahoma represented in this program is a boon for the university and the state for advancing defense and national security research.”

“Just like your favorite radio or TV station, users of the electromagnetic spectrum traditionally op…

Leadership for a Changing World: The 2020 Holmes Leadership Symposium

On February 27, 2020, the Jerry Holmes Leadership Program held its third biennial Holmes Leadership Symposium. Organized around the theme “Leadership for a Changing World," the symposium explored diversity in leadership and the role of leaders in building inclusive cultures, meaningful relationships, high-performing teams, and successful organizations. Over 250 students and professionals participated in the day-long event. The symposium was underwritten by premier sponsors BP and Northrop Grumman, session sponsor Shell, and JHLP annual sponsors Boeing, Gen. Jerry Holmes, Bill Kennedy, and Ben and Laura Lopez.
Dr. Robin Minthorn (University of Washington Tacoma) delivered the lunchtime plenary address, “Centering an Indigenous Leadership Perspective." A citizen of the Kiowa tribe of Oklahoma and a descendant of the Umatilla/Nez Perce/Apache and Assiniboine Nations, Dr. Minthorn took the audience through her personal journey, an inspiring story of perseverance, achievement, a…

CS Student, Jack Williams, Receives Undergraduate Research Day Grand Prize

Computer Science senior Jack Williams, from Bartlesville, Oklahoma, has received the Grand Prize and a $500 cash award for his presentation, one of 142 submissions, in the 2020 OU Online Undergraduate Research Day.

The presentation, "Modeling a Green Supply Chain," describes  modeling how a green supply chain, which minimizes emissions, differs from a typical supply chain, known to minimize the retailer's operating cost. The research consisted of building a theoretical model for the supply chain, then creating the model in a computer program. Next, the model was applied to population density data to discover the appearance of the green supply chain. Results were compared to traditional supply chains.
The research project, completed during the 2019-2020 academic year, was conceived by Reza Alizadeh, doctoral candidate in the School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, who together with ISE Professor Janet Allen and Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Professor Farrokh…

Trish Bloemker Sowers Named Executive Director of Development

After a national search, Trish Bloemker Sowers has been named Executive Director of Development for the Gallogly College of Engineering, effective April 20.

Sowers is an OU alumnus having earned her B.A. in Political Communication and Political Science. She brings an abundance of experience and knowledge from her career in fundraising.

Previous roles include director of Development for the University of Denver’s Pacific Northwest Region, executive director of the California 4-H Foundation, director of Development and Strategy for Carnegie Mellon’s College of Engineering and senior development officer for Missouri University of Science and Technology. In addition, she served in leadership roles for non-profit associations including president of the Denver Advertising Federation; executive director of the Associated Builders and Contractors, Rocky Mountain Chapter; interim executive director of Chi Phi Fraternity and director of Student Activities and Greek Affairs at Colorado School of …