Friday, June 14, 2013

Caroline Cochran DeWitte, Recipient of Regents' Alumni Award

Caroline Cochran DeWitte received a Regents’ Alumni Award during a May 10 ceremony on the University of Oklahoma’s Norman campus.

DeWitte is the visionary who founded the OU Club of Boston. As president, serving from 2009 to 2012, she began by securing regular Sooner watch party locations for area alumni, which proved popular from the beginning and has grown to the largest in the Northeast, attracting attendees from bordering states.

Throughout her tenure as president of the club, DeWitte also organized networking events and socials to foster friendships and networking among alumni. She created the club’s website and social media connections, including  Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter. The club currently has more than 250 Facebook members and 100 Twitter followers. She now serves as club treasurer and fundraising chair, managing club funds and continuing to guide other club officers on the board.

During her time as a student at OU, DeWitte cofounded Engineers Without Borders (now Sooners Without Borders), served as a member of the UOSA executive cabinet as communications director, and was the systems leader for the Sooner Racing Team, where she won an international design award for the braking system she developed. DeWitte helped establish OU’s Center for the Creation of Economic Wealth while serving as program manager intern with the Office of Technology Development, under current interim College of Business Dean Danield Pullin. She graduated in 2007 with a Bachelor of Arts in economics and a Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering.

Without her vision, perseverance, creativity and love for her alma mater, the OU Club of Boston would very likely not exist today. DeWitte’s efforts have paved the way for greater collaboration with the university and connections among alumni.

Nominated by the OU Club of Boston.

The Regents’ Alumni Awards are presented each year to honor alumni and friends for exceptional dedication and service to the University of Oklahoma. The OU Board of Regents and the OU Alumni Association present the awards.
Nominations are accepted from alumni, friends and OU faculty and staff. The names of each year’s recipients are engraved on a permanent plaque that hangs in Oklahoma Memorial Union as a testament to the important role that OU’s alumni play in the life of the university.

No comments:

Post a Comment